Research Databases

Other reference resources. In addition to the WRA Catalog, the Ong Library has made the reference resources listed below available via the Internet. These services are normally reserved for on-campus use only. However, members of the WRA community may contact the library staff to activate remote access.

Research database descriptions. An annotated list (brief description) of the Research Databases is also available at the end of this database listing.


Annotated List of Research Databases

Title Description
Art Collection Online image collection of paintings, sculptures, drawings, photographs, textiles, costumes, jewelry and more, from earliest times to the present.
Biography Reference Bank Articles about more than a half-million people, most in full text, from around the world, both living and dead.
Biography Resource Center Provides narrative biographies and full-text articles from respected books, magazines and journals.
Britannica Online Academic The complete encyclopedia as well as related websites, multimedia, periodical articles and more.
Country Reports Site offers many of the standard statistics. It allows creation of comparison tables. It includes sections on customs and cultures, history, photo gallery, national symbols, geography, economy, population, government and more.
Digital Video Collection This database of educational videos includes such subject areas as 19th and 20th century U.S. history turning points, astrology, biology and a wealth of other topics.
EBSCOhost All Research Databases Provides access to over 20 databases offering periodical abstracts and full-text articles.
EBSCOhost Professional Teaching Collection The Professional Teaching Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Ebrary - Academic Complete This is an eBook database that covers all academic subject areas. The collection currently includes more than 45,000 titles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This is a database of ebooks - encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources - for multidisciplinary research.
Global Issues in Context Hundreds of full-text English language international periodicals and newspapers offer global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events. This is truly a non-U.S. centric resource.
Global Reference Center (Chinese, Korean & more) This database contains online reference information in the following languages: Chinese, French, Japanese, Korean and Spanish.
Historical Statistics of the United States This online resource contains statistics on every aspect of the history of the United States from population to prices; from voting patterns to Vietnam veterans; from energy to education and everything in between.
Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society Comprehensive coverage of 150 of the most studied controversial issues. This database contains both primary and secondary sources.
JSTOR - Scholarly Journal Archive This database contains extensive back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The journals have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which reach back to the 1800s.
LearningExpress Library More than 100 programs to practice and prepare for tests (including Advance Placement (AP) exams) for a variety of subjects.
Literature Online Full-text, searchable works available online to supplement your library's print collections. Poetry, drama and fiction are included.
Literature Resource Center *NEW* An online literature resource with more than 850,000 full-text articles, critical essays, reviews and broadcast transcripts, as well as biographical coverage of more than 135,000 authors.
NewsBank Newspapers A collection of full-text newspapers available online. More than 15 titles are Ohio publications.
NoodleBib Powerful note-taking software that promotes critical thinking and creativity combined with the most comprehensive and accurate MLA- and APA-style bibliography composer on the Web.
Oxford Art Online Oxford Art Online is an innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location. A virtual art reference library of unparalleled scope and depth.
Oxford English Dictionary Oxford English Dictionary is the best source to consult for meaning, pronunciation and etymology of over half a million words in the English language.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online The innovative Oxford Language Dictionaries Online site offers essential language resources never before available online: fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages. Languages represented include French, German and Spanish.
Oxford Music Online Oxford Music Online is a new gateway that offers users the ability, for the first time ever, to access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location.
Oxford Reference Online More than 100 complete reference titles, fully indexed and cross-searchable, from a wide range of disciplines.
Science Online Thousands of essays on major topics and issues in science, math and technology, along with illustrations, experiments, activities and biographies.
Science in Context *NEW* Provides a one-stop resource for all science-related research needs. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
Student Resources in Context *NEW* Provides holistic topic perspectives by integrating a multitude of content from periodical articles, reference sources, primary sources, and audiovisual sources.
Testing and Education Reference Center (TERC) Loaded with information on colleges, executive programs, practice entrance (including Advance Placement), certification and professional license exams that show students what to expect and how to prepare to get to - and excel at - the next level.
Turnitin This database helps to deter plagiarism. Contact a librarian for information on its usage.
U.S. History in Context *NEW* Provides a complete overview of U.S. history and covers the most-studied events, issues and current information.
Visual Thesaurus This database is a dictionary and thesaurus with an intuitive interface, which helps improve vocabulary and the understanding of the English language.
World Book - Advanced A powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedia, multimedia, e-book and primary source databases, fully integrated in a single search.
World History in Context *NEW* Features extensive coverage of the 20th century, including the Ancient Mediterranean, Ancient Near East and Asia as well as the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the modern Middle East and Latin America.


Quick Links

WRA Catalog